The Caribbean

The Caribbean is a region of The Americas that consists of the Caribbean Sea, its islands and the surrounding coasts. The region is southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and the North American mainland, east of Central America, and north of South America. The Caribbean is made up of the following 3 groups of islands:

  • The Lucayan Archipelago – Countries are the Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos islands. The list of all islands is too long to put here.
  • The Greater Antilles – Greater Antilles islands list: Cuba, the Cayman Islands, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica and Puerto Rico
  • The Lesser Antilles – Made up of the smaller-island groups the Leeward Antilles (f.e. Aruba), the Leeward Islands (f.e. Antigua) and the Windward Islands (f.e. Grenada). The complete list of Lesser Antilles islands is long.